Guides/Review/Archive/2

From The Urban Dead Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Back to the archive or Guides/Review

Guides:Guide to Forming Groups Part 2

Cheers. --Penguinpyro 01:20, 22 March 2011 (UTC)

Support

  1. Loving it. Smyg 18:25, 26 March 2011 (UTC)

Against

  1. The Recruits section is hopelessly smug, except for the "Badass" part, which is more kiss ass than anything. Yeah, call them all bad-asses, but in your mind categorize them as 11 different types of losers. Nice. Most of the Active Defense section is horrendously biased and just wrong on so many levels. Your idea of trenchies I find...interesting. These days I'm finding Trenchy and Survivor to be interchangeable terms. But congrats, I'm sure this one will go over big as well.-- | T | BALLS! | 09:20 23 March 2011(UTC)
    Thank you for your input, Mr. Zombie Lord.--Penguinpyro 23:51, 23 March 2011 (UTC)
    You're welcome. Here's some more input. For a Guide called "Guide to Forming Groups", it sure is short on any information pertaining to anything beyond the "Pro-Survivor" mindset. Maybe re-title: Guide to Forming Standard Generic Paramilitary Pro-Survivor Trenchy Groups. Just a thought.-- | T | BALLS! | 08:56 26 March 2011(UTC)
    SWEET! I've always wanted to form a Standard Generic Paramilitary Pro-Survivor Trenchy Group! Maybe I'll start sprouting katanas from my ass! Awesome!!!!11111111oneoneone --Penguinpyro 22:00, 26 March 2011 (UTC)
  2. A guide to starting a group is a good idea, but this needs some substantial rewrites. The "Recruits" section should be totally redone, or even scrapped- instead of breaking the player community up into stereotyped categories, and advising a prospective leader on how to treat the different types, it would be better to highlight typical behaviors and advise a prospective leaders on how to address them. But even then, it seems like it might be too large and complex a topic to be covered in a guide- it will ultimately come down to individual social skills, and learning the particular likes and dislikes of your group's members. For example, I tend to cycle between your 'obsessive' and 'ghost' types- and those cycles of my behavior are entirely independent of the demands placed on me by my group. If they throttle my activity when I'm being very active, to try to keep me from "burning out," I just go spend my play time elsewhere- and if the keep poking me when I'm not, it just makes me feel obligated, and while in the short term I do come and do a little more than I would otherwise, it prompts me to consider leaving the group so that they don't have expectations. The best way for a group to hold my interest is to just put up with my sporadic cycles without complaining, and voice appreciation for my participation when I am around.--FT 16:00, 25 March 2011 (UTC)
    You make some excellent points, FT. I definitely oversimplified there.--Penguinpyro 22:51, 25 March 2011 (UTC)

Abstain

  1. I'm still debating this one... . It is a good followup to part 1, but something keeps bothering me about part 2. When I put a finger on it, I'll change my vote to yes, or offer a revision suggestion. Asheets 16:37, 28 March 2011 (BST)

With less than 50% support, cycled as unreviewed. ~Vsig.png 15:21, 7 April 2011

Guides:Guide to Forming Groups

Here you go. --Penguinpyro 03:42, 21 February 2011 (UTC)

Support

  1. sup3r --    : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : 10:56, 21 February 2011 (UTC)
  2. I like it a lot. Most groups don't even think about half of this stuff. TibbarRm 23:30, 21 February 2011 (UTC)
  3. It was a long, but informative read and pretty clear on all aspects. I approve of part one at least.       04:14, 22 February 2011 (UTC)
  4. I'd think about dropping the Part 1 from the title and just going with your favorite version of "General Guide for Forming Groups" or whatever personally. Long but useful. -MHSstaff 14:04, 22 February 2011 (UTC)
    Would that be possible? Changing the name and all after I've put it up for review?--Penguinpyro 20:21, 22 February 2011 (UTC)
    Personally, I doubt it matters. You could probably wait until after though. No one is going to give you grief (or should) for making the title something that you are happy with. -MHSstaff 20:40, 22 February 2011 (UTC)
    Yeah for sure, I could do it anytime and fix the links, even during the vote. No one would notice the difference. -- ϑanceϑanceevolution 01:38, 23 February 2011 (UTC)
  5. As above. The length isn't too much of an issue 'cause it's usually the experienced players who start groups. -- †  talk ? f.u. 14:07, 22 February 2011 (UTC)
    My thoughts were that if players don't have the patience to read at least the better parts, they certainly don't have the patience to make a decent group.--Penguinpyro 20:21, 22 February 2011 (UTC)
    true, that. -- †  talk ? f.u. 13:32, 23 February 2011 (UTC)
  6. like it Asheets 19:50, 22 February 2011 (UTC)
  7. Length wasn't an issue at all for me because it covered pretty much everything. Very good read. --Met Fan F 23:36, 22 February 2011 (UTC)
  8. You've cleaned up the formatting very nicely. The content seems pretty good as well, so I'd say, "way to go!" ~ Red Hawk One Talk | space for lease 04:49, 23 February 2011 (UTC)
  9. I like. I don't like all the swearing and such, but I'm never going to avoid that in anything ever. Now if only someone would write a Death-Cultist/Zombie Group Guide... as if... --Espemon333 02:28, 6 March 2011 (UTC)
  10. Very nice. Me like. Smyg 12:42, 6 March 2011 (UTC)

Against

Abstain

Obvious bandwagon is obvious - no one against, and 10 for it for the statisticians. Featured. -- Spiderzed 17:59, 9 March 2011 (UTC)

Guides:Spawning Hotspots

Have a read. --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 12:23, 14 February 2011 (UTC)

Support

  1. Support - A good, unique guide presenting an interesting strategy that nobody's tried before.--Yonnua Koponen Talk ! Contribs 12:25, 14 February 2011 (UTC)
  2. Aye - As Yonnua. --Umbrella-White.pngThadeous OakleyUmbrella-White.png Talk 16:15, 14 February 2011 (UTC)
  3. Interesting and unconventional thoughts. Exactly what the Guides page needs. -- Spiderzed 22:16, 14 February 2011 (UTC)
  4. Love, love, love the idea. Can't wait to test it out. ~Vsig.png 18:59, 15 February 2011 (UTC)
  5. As Yonnua, although I'd like to see a few more case studies explaining each of the possible human classes. Asheets 21:44, 15 February 2011 (UTC)
  6. Nicenessness - Something seems off though. As Asheets above and Mis below. -- †  talk ? f.u. 03:26, 21 February 2011 (UTC)
  7. I really like this...would it work? --C Whitty 13:29, 21 February 2011 (UTC)
  8. It is a good idea, seemed well written to me and made sense of something I had no prior knowledge about.       14:44, 21 February 2011 (UTC)
  9. I like the guide. Interesting idea, but I think it could work.TibbarRm 23:28, 21 February 2011 (UTC)
  10. --•▬ ▬••▬ • •••• •▬ ▬•▬• ▬•▬ #nerftemplatedsigs 03:51, 22 February 2011 (UTC)
  11. You've spotted and explained a real gem in the game mechanics, Ross.--Penguinpyro 07:15, 22 February 2011 (UTC)

Against

Abstain

  1. I really like it, but I just feel like it's not quite finished. Maybe a few aesthetic touches would help. It's completely solid, but at its face, it just doesn't look it. Of course, I'm an asshole and perhaps overly critical as a result. :( We're coming to get you, Barbara 21:54, 15 February 2011 (UTC)
    Hell you're not an asshole. I'm sure you have suggestions to improve it. Otherwise you're an asshole. --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 21:56, 15 February 2011 (UTC)
    I could probably do something with it, not sure if that's kosher whilst it's in voting, but if it is I'll see what I can do. A big gripe is that you're still using Rillie Bank's locationblock instead of something modified from it, for example. We're coming to get you, Barbara 21:58, 15 February 2011 (UTC)
    Speaking of which, I made a new toy. {{Place}}. Should be useful for events and guides and the like. We're coming to get you, Barbara 22:20, 15 February 2011 (UTC)
  2. I agree with Mis. It is very interesting and clever but comes across more as a case study than an guide. I think will some minor tweaks it would be pretty amazing. Also, rewrite the first sentence, or at least put some commas in it. -MHSstaff 17:32, 18 February 2011 (UTC)
    I rewrote the first sentence as directed. --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 16:06, 28 February 2011 (UTC)

With 11 support votes and 2 abastain votes, this guide is cycled as Featured. ~Vsig.png 16:26, 28 February 2011 (UTC)

Guides:Shelter

Just found it. --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 23:11, 28 November 2010 (UTC)

Support

Against

  1. I think this guide's nearly there, it has some good advice but there are also some things I take issue with. Firstly, NT buildings are only a medium profile building? That's bollocks - when a wave moves into a suburb, NT buildings are usually the first to go (in fact some zombie groups specifically target these). Secondly, while there's some good advice on barricading, there's no reference whatsoever to barricade plans - I think this is a glaring omission. Also, this guide was previously up for voting back in August 2009 - it was rejected and hasn't changed since. ~~ Chief Seagull ~~ talk 09:57, 29 November 2010 (UTC)
  2. Has potential in concept, but needs massive overhaul in actual execution (see Seagull's comment on NTs above) -- Spiderzed 01:02, 4 December 2010 (UTC)
  3. Against - as above, fine in concept, but poor execution. Linkthewindow  Talk  06:53, 4 December 2010 (UTC)

Abstain

With 3 votes against and none for, guide has failed. -- Spiderzed 19:37, 13 December 2010 (UTC)


Tidal Tactics

A feral/low-strength horde tactical article, explaining both a mentality and a game plan in detail. A littly wordy and humourous but not so much as to be a challenge. We're coming to get you, Barbara 23:16, 18 November 2010 (UTC)

Support

  1. Still think that the headers could be made more descriptive and that it would need to be dumbed down. But now it works as a guide as far as my definition goes. -- Spiderzed 20:51, 21 November 2010 (UTC)
  2. I'm all for getting this to the guides page, but only after it's been dumbed down for everyone's use. Especially if a newbie finds this guide. It may become difficult for them to understand some of the in-game terms and flowery words. -- †  talk ? f.u. 09:35, 22 November 2010 (UTC)
  3. I liked it! --C Whitty 21:51, 23 November 2010 (UTC)
  4. Great work, I have no problem with this at all. The language and layout seems fine to me, and the information is pretty sound. ~~ Chief Seagull ~~ talk 10:10, 29 November 2010 (UTC)

Against

  1. Fix the below and it'll be on par with the other great Tactics. -- LEMON #1 11:42, 22 November 2010 (UTC)
  2. Its just too damn long. Try bulletpoints. The captain loves bulletpoints. Removes Wire Quote. --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 21:59, 23 November 2010 (UTC)
    But people said remove the bulletpoints! We're coming to get you, Barbara 22:05, 23 November 2010 (UTC)

Abstain

  1. I hate to say this because the content is excellent, but the style/language just absolutely kills reading this guide. I'd really consider dumbing it down\making the tone flow better Mis. Phrases like "a quantum soup of Irish postmodernism" and "Only for the deluded are grand schemes - strategems based on wide co-ordination such as River Tactics or Dam Tactics will invariably fall in the long term" are not what I would usually expect in my internet browser MMO guides. The style makes this somewhat of a slog to get to the information. The first couple of paragraphs are worse than the rest, and the guide overall could use a little "thinning down." Otherwise, I'd vote this in in a heartbeat.-MHSstaff 02:30, 19 November 2010 (UTC)
    I think it's a great description of the erosion effect a prolonged feral assault has, as in such instances as the Feral Undead Spring Picnic. What I don't really see is a guide, though, apart from the scattered tactics tips in Play by Play. The latter should be the main menu in an actual guide. With actual sub-headers that show up in the TOC - with names that tell straight what those sub-scetions are about. -- Spiderzed 21:54, 20 November 2010 (UTC) struck by original voter -- Spiderzed 20:51, 21 November 2010 (UTC)
    See, I don't believe that guides have to be all about point-by-point instructions and tips - it can also be about expounding an idea so that it's understood more than just followed. See the difference between the Zombie Lexicon and the Dictionary, though both are considered guides. As for the comments above and below this, dumbing-down isn't happening. I like colourful writing and I'd rather have it not featured and fun, than bland and featured. We're coming to get you, Barbara 19:00, 21 November 2010 (UTC)
    It's your work, so you probably know your intended goals with this guide better than the rest of us. That said, I think there are reasons why concerns about the writing style are coming up here, and earlier in Developing Guides. Colourful and aesthetic writing is a wonderful thing, but this is not something that I would call either "easy" or "fun" to read. There are many parts where the writing becomes somewhat tedious and a chore to read, and while I wouldn't call it "pretentious," I think it does move unnecessarily in that direction. All that I ask is that you think about your guide, think about the audience you are trying to reach, and at least consider making this easier to read for the community. You are obviously a good writer, and I bet it would be fairly straightforward for you to edit this so that the content comes across in a more readable fashion.-MHSstaff 20:14, 21 November 2010 (UTC)
    Still think that the play-by-play section needs to be made more accessible, as that isn't just descriptive, but also helps to turn the understanding of TT into concrete actions - as a guide should.
    You should also have 1-2 sentences at the top that give a clear-cut idea of what TT is about. In fact, it is already in the article, and just needs to be moved up a bit: "the teachings of tidal tactics are simple - prolonged attack, time after time, will wear down any defense, and sap the resolve of the defenders"
    Once those two things have happened, I'll move my vote to Support. -- Spiderzed 19:15, 21 November 2010 (UTC)
    The bullets in the 'play by play' section have been changed to level four headers which might make it more accessible. Very little actual text has changed except for a few sentences singled out here, but I did bold a line in the opening paragraph to act as a summary of the idea. We're coming to get you, Barbara 20:44, 21 November 2010 (UTC)
  2. The information is solid - The writing atrocious. MHS nailed it. Layman terms, Mis. Not a science report. --Umbrella-White.pngThadeous OakleyUmbrella-White.png 23:17, 20 November 2010 (UTC)
  3. As above. --•▬ ▬••▬ • •••• •▬ ▬•▬• ▬•▬ #nerftemplatedsigs 23:48, 21 November 2010 (UTC)

With 4 votes for the guide and 2 against it, guide will be placed on the Guides page. -- Spiderzed 00:56, 4 December 2010 (UTC)

Working for NecroTech

A little something I've been working on - while Guides:Scientist briefly covers all aspects of science-class characters, this one is specifically geared toward NecroTech scientists (with a dash of RP-flavour thrown in for good measure). I'm pretty sure I've covered everything that needs to be covered, and the comments made at Developing Guides have been addressed. ~~ Chief Seagull ~~ talk 12:18, 15 November 2010 (UTC)

Support

  1. Works for me. Also a good example of what DG can accomplish when people actually p a r t i c i p a t e in it. -- Spiderzed 17:19, 15 November 2010 (UTC)
  2. Well written, good necronet-centric guide. ~ Red Hawk One Talk | space for lease 23:35, 19 November 2010 (UTC)
  3. A nice read.--Umbrella-White.pngThadeous OakleyUmbrella-White.png 10:07, 20 November 2010 (UTC)
  4. As above. --•▬ ▬••▬ • •••• •▬ ▬•▬• ▬•▬ #nerftemplatedsigs 23:48, 21 November 2010 (UTC)
  5. Ditto. If someone I know makes a scientist character, I'll refer them straight to this guide. -- †  talk ? f.u. 12:27, 25 November 2010 (UTC)

Against

Abstain

With 4 5 votes for it and none against it, this guide will be featured. -- Spiderzed 21:38, 30 November 2010 (UTC)

Um, five. We're coming to get you, Barbara 21:39, 30 November 2010 (UTC)
I'm death tired. And had hoped someone else had catched up meanwhile. -- Spiderzed 21:44, 30 November 2010 (UTC)

Cobra (group)/Guide

As I told already on Developing Guides, none of the existing PKer guides has made me happy. They are good at teaching the basic "max your guns and hide in dark buildings" drill, but hardly go beyond that. (Possible exception is only the Siege PKer guide, and let's face it, it's more about death-cultists who use PKing as one of their tools, than about the run-of-the-mill PKer who doesn't necessarily care about whether the zombies win or lose.)

I looked to write up something that is still easy to pick up for beginners, but also teaches some advanced tricks without going to deep into tangents as actions via question marks, or the way that the RG works. -- Spiderzed 14:59, 14 November 2010 (UTC)

Support

  1. Le fabricant c'est moi. -- Spiderzed 15:07, 14 November 2010 (UTC)
  2. While the coloring leaves something to be desired, the overall content seems top-notch. Great amount of information, very detailed and easy to read. Nice work, if I may say so and definitely one of the better guides on the subject. However, I suggest removing the Cobra top, and moving the guide to mainspace.--Umbrella-White.pngThadeous OakleyUmbrella-White.png 16:02, 14 November 2010 (UTC)
    Precedence for guides as group sub-page. And even a featured guide at that. -- Spiderzed 16:06, 14 November 2010 (UTC)
    It was just a suggestion sweetheart. If you don't want to, then it's fine. --Umbrella-White.pngThadeous OakleyUmbrella-White.png 16:15, 14 November 2010 (UTC)
  3. Yes Good Idea!!! - User:Krazymouse 16:16, 14 November 2010 (UTC)
  4. Yarp, tis a good comprehensive guide. I can't see a reason to say no. ~~ Chief Seagull ~~ talk 12:09, 15 November 2010 (UTC)
  5. -MHSstaff 18:58, 15 November 2010 (UTC)
  6. Hail Cobra! This is something we can all get behind! Sage|Carr Cobra 15:25, 18 November 2010 (UTC)
  7. I found it pretty well-done. We're coming to get you, Barbara 23:16, 18 November 2010 (UTC)
  8. Love it that you admit it's for the lulz, instead of being trenchcoats that decided to shoot survivors too. >_> So many just don't get it. </3 --EasilyDistracted 09:26, 20 November 2010 (UTC)
  9. Love it. Just love it. --•▬ ▬••▬ • •••• •▬ ▬•▬• ▬•▬ #nerftemplatedsigs 23:48, 21 November 2010 (UTC)

Against

Abstain

With 9 votes for it and none against it, this guide will be featured. -- Spiderzed 21:38, 30 November 2010 (UTC)


Guides:Dealing with People

My guide. It would be greatly appreciated if input and comments were written as specifically as possible.

Support

  1. Author Vote and Nominated (I didn't see any rules against it) --Jon Aiken RSZ ! 06:56, 14 October 2010 (BST)

Against

  1. Plainly wrong in several regards (Zombie Spies), plainly oversimplifying in others (Death-Cultist section), and also omitting Zerg Hunters. Go to Developing Guides first and iron it out. -- Spiderzed 11:21, 14 October 2010 (BST)
    Plainly wrong in what way? --Jon Aiken RSZ ! 15:12, 14 October 2010 (BST)
    Zombie Spies don't work the way that you think that they work. Many hordes don't allow usage of breather intel at all. And even among those with a very liberal stance on death-culting (such as FU), there are no full-time zombie spies who highlight foodzie barns with flares. Oh, and forget especially about death-cultists being spared by their horde. My FU cultist got eaten plenty of times by team mates. And when my team members don't do it, random ferals will do it. -- Spiderzed 19:10, 14 October 2010 (BST)
  2. Plainly one-sided - strategy guides are allowed this as they outline a play style for one side and have no reason to consider the other tactically. Overviews like this need to be all-encompassing or they're quite deficient, and frankly I find improper use of the "onoz griefing!" card to be insulting. We're coming to get you, Barbara 15:03, 14 October 2010 (BST)
    What do you mean "onoz griefing?" --Jon Aiken RSZ ! 15:12, 14 October 2010 (BST)
    Simply put, the use of the term griefing when it's clearly not the case. 'Griefing' is a deliberate attempt to ruin someone's enjoyment of a game, either for trolling purposes or to force them to quit. The only concrete uses of griefing in this game are targetted zrg nest (bad), text rapists (very bad), and zerg hunters (es muy bueno!). Ganking the odd generator is as valid a tactic as installing said generator in the first place. We're coming to get you, Barbara 15:19, 14 October 2010 (BST)
  3. As Mis. --•▬ ▬••▬ • •••• •▬ ▬•▬• ▬•▬ #nerftemplatedsigs 15:08, 14 October 2010 (BST)

Abstain

With less than 50% Support, guide has failed to enter the guides page. -- Spiderzed 22:57, 2 November 2010 (UTC)

Guides:Ghost Town Reclamation

Right. Major Rewrite. Discuss.

Support

  1. It's a detailed guide, explains the subject matter in a way that can be understood. Though I feel this is really only something for small groups. Larger survivor groups can basically skip Phase 2&3, as they can easily overcome the ferals with sheer numbers, repairing and barricading large amount of buildings in a single run. --Umbrella-White.pngThadeous OakleyUmbrella-White.png 10:45, 20 August 2010 (BST)
  2. This is one of the best guides I've read.--GANG Giles Sednik CAPD 12:32, 20 August 2010 (BST)
  3. Off to featured guides with that. -- Spiderzed 12:44, 20 August 2010 (BST)
  4. Sex makes babies!!??! O_O -- Emot-argh.gif 15:36, 20 August 2010 (BST)
  5. Move to mainspace, perhaps? --VVV RGPBMBCAWS 04:36, 21 August 2010 (BST)
    Yep. It will be. RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 11:06, 21 August 2010 (BST)
  6. It should be double checked for minor spelling/grammar errors, but all in all, it's good. --•▬ ▬••▬ • •••• •▬ ▬•▬• ▬•▬ #nerftemplatedsigs 15:06, 21 August 2010 (BST)
  7. It seems like a good idea to me. --Zensaga 18:11, 21 August 2010 (BST)
  8. I concur with the idea of proofreading the guide, but other than these minor errors, this is a rather good guide, especially applicable for smaller groups. -- Chirurgien  (talk 10:03, 24 August 2010 (BST)
  9. Looks great.--Gumball135 11:33, 27 August 2010 (BST)
  10. Nice. (How many pkers hang around ghost towns as zombies?)--Ryvyoli Y R 06:28, 28 August 2010 (BST)
  11. Good guide, maybe not as useful as other ones, but still good. William Burns 21:52, 29 August 2010 (BST)
  12. Excellent guide-sound strategy--Belisarius17 23:30, 3 September 2010 (BST)

Against

  1. Only slightly against due to the use of combat revives. Any PK'er worth his/her account will use the revive to cause problems for anyone trying to repopulate an area.--keepster33 03:36, 27 August 2010 (BST)
    In fairness, alive or dead, a pker will cause problems for anyone trying to repopulate an area. --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 14:37, 28 August 2010 (BST)
    Combat revives are a very good AP investment, as per CRAP, and are in the original spirit of the game. We should be encouraging them whenever we can, not bash on them at every opportunity because the DEM said so. RinKou 17:14, 28 August 2010 (BST)
    That aside, PKers are hardly a threat in ghost towns. They use at least 20AP to kill you - your pals just use 10AP to revive you - and after at least 3 bouts of this, the PKer is out of ammo and far away from making another strike, unless he leaves for greener pastures to restock (which takes even more APs). (Not that there are many PKers in ghost towns to begin with, as regular PKing relies on easy access to ammo in a lit mall or at least a lit PD, none of which is found until very late in a ghost town reclamation.)
    Death-cultists are more of a threat, as they can destroy gennies and abuse the cade strafing by creating pinatas. But even there, the chance to reset repair costs is worth the consequences in most cases. -- Spiderzed 17:31, 28 August 2010 (BST)
    Which is why i suggested only cading to vsb to begin with. tricky pinatas! --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 12:07, 29 August 2010 (BST)

Abstain

  1. I thought it was well thought out and written, but my experiences with Ghost Towns have been slightly different - and that is my sole reason for abstaining --C Whitty 14:44, 21 August 2010 (BST)


With Over 75% Support Ghost town reclamation has been Successful and will be moved to Featured Guides. --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 10:24, 4 September 2010 (BST)

Guides:Short simple guide to staying alive

Okay, it's been revised a bit, even has one graphic now. Goal of this guide is as described in intro section - just the basics of how to get a newbie up to where they can keep themselves alive without the predictable mistakes, something that I see as missing in some of the more comprehensive "Everything I can think of about UD"-type guides.

No longer as "short" as it once was, but it's still "shorter" than any (most?) others in its general category, which was the idea. I admittedly diverged into a couple short comments of some of the more obvious or confusing questions, like "why not guns?", and the fact that despite being "survivor vs. zombie", it is possible to PK - something that confused the hell outa me at first given the "us vs them" premise (just didn't expect it), and how to become unzobmified. --Swingin' Sam 00:30, 15 August 2010 (BST)

Support

  1. Why not. I'd add a quick comment about using the new home button so you don't lose your vsb building. I'd also suggest adding something about how you should speak to other people in game. Not bad though. --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 16:54, 17 August 2010 (BST)
    re "speak to other people in the game" - do you mean what info to pass on, or what tone to keep? The former I did (a bit), the other is kinda outside "game advice" and more "life advice".  :/ Outside that, the "new home button" is, well - new! But not a bad suggestion, I'll squeeze it in.--Swingin' Sam 07:23, 19 August 2010 (BST)
    I simply meant, speak to people. No comment on content, its just a good way of getting recognised and meeting helpful people. --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 10:20, 20 August 2010 (BST)
  2. Does what it says on the can. -- Spiderzed 16:57, 17 August 2010 (BST)
  3. Pretty sweet.--GANG Giles Sednik CAPD 12:36, 20 August 2010 (BST)
  4. Not too shabby but I do believe down at the bottom you mean "zombified" not "zobmified" (<-- my only problem with it) -- Emot-argh.gif 15:38, 20 August 2010 (BST)
    Great Zobmie Jeezamus! I means what I sez! Which is to say - thanx, but that was 200% intentionalled - as was the sprelling of "Halp", and the malconjugation of the verb "to be" in "I be zobmified"--Swingin' Sam 03:23, 21 August 2010 (BST)
  5. Not as "short" as it started out, but I wish I had this when I first started. --Swingin' Sam 13:25, 24 August 2010 (BST)

Against

  1. There's no original research of thought. You're just repeating what you heard in other guides. Also, crit 3. --VVV RGPBMBCAWS 04:43, 21 August 2010 (BST)
    Purely an assumption on your part, and an incorrect (and irrelevant) one. In fact, I haven't slogged through any of the other opuses, at best only skimmed parts of them, which is what prompted me to create this short(er) one. After over 3 years of intermittent play, I don't have to read the obvious to write about it (or improve on it).--Swingin' Sam 19:12, 21 August 2010 (BST)
  2. As most guides are it was well written........but samey! Was it needed? Are there other guides out there that cover this subject? --C Whitty 14:53, 21 August 2010 (BST)
    Not same imo - shorter, more to the point, which makes it MUCH more accessible and inviting to read. There may be other guides that cover 100% of this material, but also cover much, much, much, much, much, much... more. As the title suggests, this attempts to focus only on what a newbie really needs for the first week or two, to a solid Level 4 survivor, not every related topic that also might jump to mind of a vet player. Guns? DNA extractors? pffft - not newbie friendly at all, imo, quite the opposite. After level 4, sure - but that's not what this guide is about.--Swingin' Sam 19:12, 21 August 2010 (BST)
  3. As per TripleU. --•▬ ▬••▬ • •••• •▬ ▬•▬• ▬•▬ #nerftemplatedsigs 15:08, 21 August 2010 (BST)
    I would be willing to bet my wirecutters that a close analysis would show a significant difference in content. I find other Guides (now that I'm invited to compare) both unfocused and scattered, with details to the basics lacking in favour of mid- or upper-level tangents. Not same same, not a bit.--Swingin' Sam 19:58, 21 August 2010 (BST)
  4. Like all before, it's a well-written guide. It just reads like a guide for newbies, written by a newbie. Between common knowledge and common mistakes, First Day in Malton just does the job better. Sorry, brah. RinKou 00:55, 27 August 2010 (BST)

Abstain

With just More than 50% support the guide has been Successful and will be placed on the Guides page. --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 10:24, 4 September 2010 (BST)

Misanthropy's Map Toolbox

May as well throw this up, see if it gets used some more. I'd been holding off cause I thought I still hadn't gotten round to fixing the rounded corners issues but apparently I already did that (though I think some browsers still don't display them, but that's unavoidable). Anyway, vote.

Support

Against

  1. First and most importantly, this guide has absolutely nothing to do with Urban Dead. That said, it should be explaining how to use the map systems we already have (suburb map, barricade plan map, status map), not some completely new invention. Far to many people don't know to use a chart and either |smallplain}} or |largeplain}} to show a multi-suburb barricade plan. I'm the only one that's ever bothered to make a one-suburb status map (showing the status of every building). No one ever thinks to make existing maps better. Don't distract them with your branded templates. --VVV RGPBMBCAWS 05:58, 8 August 2010 (BST)
  2. As VVV and Link, I like this guide but I can't vouch it as a candidate for the Guides Page. -- 11:24, 8 August 2010 (BST)
  3. It's a pretty awesome map tool, and I've been meaning to use it for something (can't think of what right now) but as others it's not really an UD oriented guide.--GANG Giles Sednik CAPD 12:38, 20 August 2010 (BST)
  4. Sorry Mis but I agree a Wiki how to isn't necessary "Guide Worthy" as far as the guides page goes. The Urban Dead Colloquialisms you cited contains a lot of terminology we use in UD that would be different to a brand new user which is why it was accepted. -- Emot-argh.gif 15:41, 20 August 2010 (BST)
  5. The tetris bit swung it for me --C Whitty 14:55, 21 August 2010 (BST)

Abstain

  1. It's a good page, but it doesn't really belong on the guides page, which (historically, at least) has been focused on guides for stuff going on in-game. Linkthewindow  Talk  06:32, 8 August 2010 (BST)
    I sorta took the precedence as being the Urban Dead Colloquialisms guide on there, which also has much more weighting towards the metagame than the game itself. We're coming to get you, Barbara 20:14, 9 August 2010 (BST)
    *Precedent.--User:Yonnua Koponen/signature2 20:16, 9 August 2010 (BST)
    That too. It's been a long day. We're coming to get you, Barbara 20:19, 9 August 2010 (BST)
  2. I agree, this isn't Guide material. Perhaps one of those Wiki Help pages? --•▬ ▬••▬ • •••• •▬ ▬•▬• ▬•▬ #nerftemplatedsigs 15:11, 21 August 2010 (BST)


With Less than 50% support the Map Toolbox has Failed to gain support to be featured on Guides. As many have suggested why not put it in the Help Namespace? --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 10:24, 4 September 2010 (BST)


Guides:Damage Per Action

Was never nominated because it was just put into the Guides namespace, while it's there we might as well throw it here, and I think (assuming the maths is right) that it could be very helpful. -- 11:40, 16 July 2010 (BST)

Support

  1. Nothing that isn't blatantly obvious to someone knowing basic stochastics, but as someone has already written it up, it can as well be included on the Guides page. -- Spiderzed 11:45, 16 July 2010 (BST)
  2. --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 11:48, 16 July 2010 (BST)
  3. Technical Pacifist 12:00, 16 July 2010 (BST)
  4. I gave it some look, and after I submitted this I thought that it needs an update in the "flare gun" section as it doesn't show what accuracy it gives when flare gun is mixed with handgun trainings. Besides that it seems cool -- 13:50, 16 July 2010 (BST)
  5. Having second thoughts about moving it into the guides space, but if it's in the guides space, might as well vote keep. Linkthewindow  Talk  14:10, 16 July 2010 (BST)
  6. As link.-- Adward  14:52, 16 July 2010 (BST)

Against

Abstain

Successful and featured. Linkthewindow  Talk  01:37, 7 August 2010 (BST)

Guides:Anti Siege Strategy

For some reason this has never been voted on. So I'm putting it up now. Linkthewindow  Talk  02:16, 16 July 2010 (BST)

Support

Against

  1. A little outdated (it predates cade blocking) but the information is still (basically) good. Pretty much needs an update, then I'll vote for inclusion. Linkthewindow  Talk  02:16, 16 July 2010 (BST)
  2. Outdated, and rather curt. A relic of a time long-gone, when numbers were high enought that large-scale tactics mattered more, and cade-blocking didn't exist. Now that it does, sieges don't, which makes this a poor choice for being featured. We're coming to get you, Barbara 02:21, 16 July 2010 (BST)
  3. It's not retarded, but it is outdated. --VVV RGPBMBCAWS 02:31, 16 July 2010 (BST)
  4. Clearly superceded by The Mall Defence Manifesto. I see nothing in A.S.S. (:P) that isn't already covered by that one (and then some more). -- Spiderzed 11:28, 16 July 2010 (BST)
  5. As the above people. Technical Pacifist 12:00, 16 July 2010 (BST)
  6. As Spiderzed/Mis.-- Adward  14:53, 16 July 2010 (BST)

Abstain

Failed Linkthewindow  Talk  01:37, 7 August 2010 (BST)

Guides:Feral Death-Cultist Guide

After having it discussed in Developing Guides (see guide's talk page) and thoroughly proof-read, I think this one is ripe for voting. -- Spiderzed 23:11, 10 June 2010 (BST)

For

  1. Yarp. We're coming to get you, Barbara 23:12, 10 June 2010 (BST)
  2. Authour vote. -- Spiderzed 18:30, 11 June 2010 (BST)
  3. The only possible flaws are in the strategy, and that's up to the reader to decide. We're just voting on whether it makes sense- and it's clarity is flawless. --VVV RGPBMBCAWS 01:41, 12 June 2010 (BST)
  4. I thought it was excellent. Better players mean a better game and this guide will help with that for both sides-and it features one of the most interesting aspects of the game: the "hybrid" character. Nice job.--Belisarius17 17:44, 12 June 2010 (BST)
  5. MmmmHmmm. -Austin Hunt 16:59, 15 June 2010 (BST)

Against

Abstain

  1. Abstain - As someone with a brainrotted feral death cultist, I'd largely agree with most of this guide, but I disagree with almost everything on the RG and lots of other minor stuff. Getting DNR status generally happens on a local level rather than through the RG. My PKer has killed a good 50 people, and the RG has dismissed all claims against him out of hand for some strange reason. He still gets killed and revives are refused regularly. So yeah, I feel you overplayed the RG and underplayed the issue of becoming well known locally.--Yonnua Koponen Talk ! Contribs 23:21, 10 June 2010 (BST)
    Also, the internal links need to be changed,because they link to the userspace version rather than this version.--Yonnua Koponen Talk ! Contribs 23:22, 10 June 2010 (BST)
    Just when I thought that I had covered everything for the transition to main space... Thanks for the heads-up. -- Spiderzed 23:30, 10 June 2010 (BST)

Voting Closed - At and approval rate of 5 to 1, this guide has passed voting and will be featured on the guides page.

Feral Movement

In response to some comments during the last round of voting, I've changed some wording in the guide to make it not look like a group page. - DevOhm 04:26, 15 January 2010 (UTC)

For

  1. Author vote. - DevOhm 04:26, 15 January 2010 (UTC)
  2. You've definately fixed the group-look. Well written and fairly origional material. Good guide!--~ Red Hawk One Talk | space for lease 04:37, 15 January 2010 (UTC)
  3. Doesn't feel as much like a group page now, and since I was on the fence before, you've pulled me to the other side with the changes. Aichon 05:33, 15 January 2010 (UTC)
  4. As above--much better. --Maverick Talk - OBR Praise Knowledge! 404 06:25, 15 January 2010 (UTC)
  5. Looks good.--Yonnua Koponen Talk ! Contribs 07:57, 15 January 2010 (UTC)
  6. A very good guide with some excellent observations and ideas. Nice one. Chief Seagull (talk) 09:32, 15 January 2010 (UTC)
  7. <cyrus>Can you dig it?</cyrus> We're coming to get you, Barbara 16:30, 15 January 2010 (UTC)
  8. It's great! -- 10:53, 16 January 2010 (UTC)
  9. Yeah, pretty good guide. I might even use this if i were to become a zombie.--Jack Kolt 04:56, 17 January 2010 (UTC)
  10. I was in favour of it even before the overhauling, so guess what? --Spiderzed 12:28, 17 January 2010 (UTC)
  11. A pretty good read. Looks much better than last time. -- THELORDGUNSLINGER 20:16, 17 January 2010 (UTC)
  12. Yep --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 20:16, 17 January 2010 (UTC)
  13. --Bob Boberton TF / DW Littlemudkipsig.gif 20:20, 17 January 2010 (UTC)
  14. Heck yes this is awesome.--GANG Giles Sednik CAPD 21:35, 17 January 2010 (UTC)
  15. b RinKou 04:40, 19 January 2010 (UTC)

Against

  1. This isn't a guide, it's a movement, an event, a decentralised group. This is no different to the tactics and hints on a Mall Tour or Big Bash page, it doesn't belong with the guides. -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 04:37, 27 January 2010 (UTC)

Abstain

  1. I am still in 2 minds about this and rather than simply vote Against and be negative I will Abstain because it is a good read and you have amended it well but I still feel its a little groupy...only a little!--C Whitty 09:43, 16 January 2010 (UTC)

Voting Closed - At and approval rate of 15 to 2, this guide has passed voting and will be featured on the guides page.

So you've decided to become a zombie

- Chief Seagull (talk) 15:00, 13 January 2010 (UTC)

For

  1. I was planning on abstaining, since I felt like it was a bit of a wall of text. On second thought though, it's fairly fun to read, and is a pretty extensive discussion of zombie skills and their utility/importance. Still, it could probably afford to be pared down a bit. - DevOhm 04:32, 15 January 2010 (UTC)
  2. Made me a chuckle and it was a decent read! --C Whitty 09:46, 16 January 2010 (UTC)
  3. nothing to say about this one, the lolspeak was humorous, and it clarified what all babah zombahs need to know.--Jack Kolt 05:10, 17 January 2010 (UTC)
  4. Excellent read. After fixing the noted issue of Maverick, this gets my vote. -- THELORDGUNSLINGER 20:16, 17 January 2010 (UTC)
  5. --Bob Boberton TF / DW Littlemudkipsig.gif 20:20, 17 January 2010 (UTC)
  6. Although I'd mention how diagnosis, is a lot cheaper than buying the equivalent scent skills, especially early in character development. --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 20:45, 17 January 2010 (UTC)
    That's a good point, I've added that in. Thanks for that. Chief Seagull (talk) 11:13, 18 January 2010 (UTC)
  7. Well I thought it was cute. RinKou 04:45, 19 January 2010 (UTC)
  8. I disagree with some of the advice, the formatting and certain priorities and concepts, but it's like saying I don't like that Ferrari because it's yellow, it's still a Ferrari and I'd rather have this guide up there than an idiot trenchie one. -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 04:33, 27 January 2010 (UTC)

Against

  1. Up until a major accuracy issue raised it's head I was right on board for this guide. "it's impossible to revive a rotted zombie". While this may be true in most cases, it is not true in all cases and needs clarification for newbies. --Maverick Talk - OBR Praise Knowledge! 404 06:34, 15 January 2010 (UTC)
    Ah yes, I see what you mean now. Fixed. Chief Seagull (talk) 09:08, 15 January 2010 (UTC)

Abstain


Voting Closed - At and approval rate of 8 to 1, this guide has passed voting and will be entered on the guides page.

The Feral Movement

- DevOhm 13:35, 5 January 2010 (UTC)

I've decided to withdraw this guide from nomination at this time. Instead, I've taken it here to deal with some issues raised during this voting. Thanks everyone. - DevOhm 12:22, 8 January 2010 (UTC)

For

  1. Author vote. Hope it reads well. - DevOhm 13:35, 5 January 2010 (UTC)
  2. For it. It's a pretty extensive list of the possibilities of in-game communication and coordination of zombies.--Spiderzed 14:13, 5 January 2010 (UTC)
  3. Well-written and helpful, but it's more of a group page than a guide. I figure it'll help new players though, so I'm voting for. We're coming to get you, Barbara 16:44, 5 January 2010 (UTC)
  4. More of a policy than a guide. But lots of effort and some good advice. --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 17:45, 5 January 2010 (UTC)
  5. The information presented is well-written and somewhat origional. It does come across at times more like a group than a guide, but aside from that one easily-fixable problem it is a good guide.--~ Red Hawk One Talk | space for lease 19:52, 5 January 2010 (UTC)
    Any recommendations for making it less group-ish? I tried to do that with the disclaimer section at the beginning. - DevOhm 00:01, 6 January 2010 (UTC)
    Well, dump the group infobox for one. It gives the page a very strong 'group' vibe. Also perhaps suggest using the group field of the profile for a link to the wiki article, instead of just the name, as that says group too. We're coming to get you, Barbara 00:38, 6 January 2010 (UTC)
    Most of the article is fine; however, certain sections, such as 'Disclaimer," "Group Affiliation," and "The Feral Movement should be rewritten to shift the focus from the "group" (which should at best be an aside suggestion/endorsement) and more towards the concept. As Misanthropy suggested, you should either drop the groupbox, or create a custom model that doesn't use all the "group" variables.--~ Red Hawk One Talk | space for lease 02:59, 6 January 2010 (UTC)
    You know, having "tiny.cc/feral" as the group tag is a really great idea. Combining the group tag function with the wiki link is a great way to condense information even further. When the voting is up I'll definitely fold that idea into the guide. - DevOhm 06:43, 6 January 2010 (UTC)
  6. Wonderfully written! A very good guide for a feral!!--Zaphord 00:20, 6 January 2010 (UTC)
  7. tl;dr. I'll just go with the nice vote anyway. Cookies and Cream 09:31, 7 January 2010 (UTC)

Against

  1. Against, but only just. It's a well written guide at the bottom, but we cannot forget that it is indeed a group page. --Haliman - Talk 17:10, 5 January 2010 (UTC)
    I figured that a precedent for this sort of thing was set with X:00, which was pretty group-like at first. - DevOhm 00:01, 6 January 2010 (UTC)
  2. Against interesting read but is it a guide? --C Whitty 00:03, 6 January 2010 (UTC)
  3. Only barely against it, just because it does still read like a group page. Honestly, I'd take it to Developing Guides since it is a perfectly usable guide, but just needs to be de-groupified a bit. Give it a few days over there to polish it up, then bring it back here afterwards, I think. Aichon 00:56, 6 January 2010 (UTC)
  4. As Aichon. A little polish and less group-ish and I'm 100% behind this guide. --Maverick Talk - OBR Praise Knowledge! 404 10:16, 6 January 2010 (UTC)
  5. Against. Remove mentions of setting group affiliation, the group template in the top right portion of the page, and the mentions of the stats page so it feels less like a group page and more like a guide to a style of feral life. --Papa Johnny 14:50, 6 January 2010 (UTC)
    I'm down with the group box and stats page mentions, but I think the group affiliation is still a useful tactic for a number of reasons. Misanthropy suggested using a link to the wiki page as a group affiliation and I think that's a great idea. Would that work you think? Makes it more about the tactics than the identity, but you can still recognize groans and all that. - DevOhm 07:25, 7 January 2010 (UTC)
  6. Againt -- Fix, as above, and I'll change my mind. Asheets 17:34, 6 January 2010 (UTC)

Abstain

Guide was withdrawn by author. - DevOhm 04:11, 15 January 2010 (UTC)

User:Winman1/Why zombies have an advantage

--Winman1 00:35, 6 December 2009 (UTC)

For

  1. I'm voting for my own guide--Winman1 00:39, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
  2. I vote in favor of the guide. While it has its flaws, it is pointing out numerous problems.
Starting out is really a misnomer. The proper term should be "Get dumped in the middle of nowhere and get eaten alive." Starting out with few supplies and few abilities, if you are put into an area where there are any zombies looking around, there's a very good chance you're going to die. Overcading prevents people from getting into buildings where they'd be safe, but the cades are put in place as a response to zombie attacks in order to protect resource spots. While a person could, hypothetically, check in every 30 minutes to see if their light barricades have been torn down (the zombie of course being generous enough to wait about taking action until the survivor has had an opportunity to respond), it's not realistic. People have lives, and can't spend all their time constantly checking up. Very high barricades are put in place because one good series of attacks would allow zombies to breach a building, and since no one starts with the ability to fortify a base of operations at level 1, death is a very likely outcome. If you're lucky enough to find yourself in a reclaimed suburb, you've got a chance, but with as many zombies as there are, you're more likely to end up eaten. Zombies, meanwhile, don't really have that much to be concerned about. Zombies aren't hunted because no matter what the survivors manage to do, the zombie just stands back up and continues attacking. Headshot is shrugged off easily enough, even at lower levels. Survivors cade up buildings because barricaded buildings are their only safe refuge. Zombies don't need refuge. They just need someone to eat.
The breakdown between Zombies and Survivors based on numbers is a major point as well, and he's correct. Simply looking at the numbers doesn't show anything. Zombies love to get revived so they can do some scouting and report back to others or just get inside a barricaded building and cause destruction. Death Cultists and PKers are a major thorn in survivors' sides. Anyone who's been hacked to death by a Death Cultist can attest to that.
As for the Nerfing, I'd say he's wrong about speech, as it's been indicated that there is a reason of practicality behind it. Revivification cost is one that he does have right. When the amount of AP expended to make and administer a syringe is the same amount as the AP cost to load and fire 10 shotgun shells, there is a major disparity. I can understand the reasoning behind it - "balance." If it only cost a reasonable amount of AP to revive someone, then survivors would "be too powerful" (in other words, have a chance at surviving). But consider the difference between a survivor and a zombie - it costs 20 AP to revive a survivor (finding or making a syringe and administering it), more AP to cure infection and bring the survivor to full health, and even then, the survivor must still collect weapons and ammo. All a zombie need do is stand up and he's at full health, with the highest possible cost to stand up being only 15AP, as opposed to the (at the very least) 23AP to get a Survivor back to that state. The Large Building argument I'll not bother with. It's better that buildings be realistic, but even inside of malls, barricades could be formed in real life (benches blocking walkways and such). Ruin is the biggest disparity. One zombie can break into a building, infect everyone in it, and destroy a generator, leaving plenty of time for other zombies to get inside and make the building unholdable because, unlike zombies, survivors have to gather ammo to have effective weapons. That means that unless a lone zombie breaks into a gun show, it can force out multiple survivors, and then ruin the building and camp to prevent it being fixed. Dakerstown is a perfect example, where metagaming Extinction organizes attacks and then camps the ruins. Survivors can't force them out because of number disparity (not to mention lack of ammo), so even if they do finally manage it, the AP cost to repair leaves them unable to fix it and have any hope of surviving. There's also the fact that a survivor running into a ruin gets them injured, but a zombie jumping to the outside of a ruin deals no damage. Free Running ends up making it MORE likely that you'll be easy prey for zombies if there's a ruin around, and why? Because apparently, ruining the inside of a building makes it impossible for a person to get inside AND makes it almost certain they'll break their leg falling to the ground outside.
The zombie apologists can complain about "Cades" as much as they want, but when close to half of all suburbs are either Very Dangerous or Ghost Towns, both starting-off survivors and even veteran survivors have little chance of cades holding for more than a few hours. You want balance? Give survivors the ability to tackle a zombie out the door for an HP penalty. That would give survivors a fighting chance. Franklin Castle 17:50, 11 December 2009 (UTC)
tl;dr pl0x? Also do not talk about Extinction being an effective horde given their track record -- Emot-argh.gif 18:22, 11 December 2009 (UTC)
You do know how rare it is for zombies to control more than half the map? On one of my medic-scouts the other day, I wandered outside to find some people who got locked out. There were four people standing outside in a 3x3 block radius, all of whom were at full health. And this isn't the first time I've run into these. I've seen countless green suburbs with a complete total of 0 zombies, including ones at revive points. Yellow/orange suburbs are more often than not far easier to get into, and make up the majority of the map. Zombies mean that cades will less likely be at EHB 24/7. Zombies mean people to heal, zombies to kill, DNA extract, revive. A zombie spawning anywhere is screwed unless they join up with a horde or manage to get lucky enough to find opened buildings until midgame. Also, this is a zombie apocalypse. The survivors aren't supposed to have a fighting chance. They should never outnumber the zombies. Human on human conflict is the center of anything in the zombie genre that is worth its salt. RinKou 21:53, 11 December 2009 (UTC)

Against

  1. Most of your points are either heavily opinionated, based off of personal experience, or rely on fallicious logic. The article reads as an anti-zombie rant; it bears little resemblance to a guide.--~ Red Hawk One Talk | space for lease 00:54, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
  2. Giant fucking against. Are we playing the same game? We're coming to get you, Barbara 00:56, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
  3. Holy shit man, no offense, but wow. Ruins are an advantage to Zombies? Make it so you can't freerun out of them and MAYBE they might actually be worth creating. I could go on, but damn, just no.-- | T | BALLS! | 01:02 6 December 2009(BST)
  4. No way. The logic is off, the arguments are incorrect, and it would only serve to misdirect new players. Aichon 01:26, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
  5. How is this even a guide?. True zombies start out with Vigour Mortis, and they are able to attack barricades, but how can they get inside without memories of life? This "guide" is just terrible.--Zaphord 01:56, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
  6. Wow, this guy has absolutely no idea what he's talking about. You know, saying "Yes I have had a zombie character" doesn't support your anti-zombie screed when it's clear from what you say that you have never had a functioning zombie character. Spending an hour or two undead while your trenchy ass shambles over to the revive point doesn't count. You don't know that without Memories of Life, a zombie isn't getting into a building? You haven't noticed actual hit rates on barricades? You think a 100% accurate autokill strike is too expensive at 10 AP plus using up its item? The next time a zombie Winman1 complains about unfairness, you know they're he's lying. --Mold 01:58, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
  7. This moron's guides are worse than his ideas. Now we know where he gets all his crappy suggestions from: He has no understanding of how Urban Dead functions! Lelouch vi Britannia is helping make Ridleybank green_ and gives Achievements 03:56, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
  8. Your guide should fix its grievous errors before being resubmitted. You're going to want to use User:Winman1/Why survivors have a slight advantage, I think. --Bob Boberton TF / DW Littlemudkipsig.gif 04:00, 6 December 2009 (BST)
  9. -- SA 04:48, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
  10. lmao Cyberbob  Talk  05:02, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
  11. ~facepalm~ As above. --Maverick Talk - OBR Praise Knowledge! 404 06:08, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
  12. MASSIVE FUCKING AGAINST --DANCEDANCEREVOLUTION-- 06:15, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
  13. Apart from ignoring or misinterpreting a large number of things.. where is the guide material? What does this teach me and my character about the game that will help me? I don't think of this as a guide, rather an analysis, and a poor one at that. - User:Whitehouse 11:48, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
  14. It's not such a bad read. From the comments above I was expecting something far worse. But it's not really a guide either.--GANG Giles Sednik CAPD 13:00, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
  15. Rubbish.-- Adward  15:15, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
  16. Interesting.. but not a guide. --Janus talk 15:53, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
  17. Not a guide. -- Papa Jadkor (RRF) (MotA) (MT11) 17:16, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
  18. Im not going to take "strategy" advice from someone who can't even spell it. Also see talk page on that for my personal thoughts. -- Emot-argh.gif 18:16, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
  19. You again?
    • "Zombie characters say that survivors have more advantages than them." - No, zombie characters do not say this, it's impossible to say in Death Rattle.
    • "Zombies start the game with Vigour Mortis which gives them the ability to start getting xp with no trouble." - Massive advantage.... because there are no survivor characters with the ability to gain XP straight away....
    • "Yes I have had a zombie character" - But have obviously never had a clue.
    • "Survivors have to find a reliably vsb building to hide in when they start the game." - Rubbish, there is no imperative at all to do this. Understand HIPS before you even think of making a response to this point. You also conveniently forget about the Scout class here.
    • "In addition, they must acquire free running before they can find ammunition or useful supplies" - Again forgetting about Scouts... Also, who's fault is it that all the malls are stupidly heavily barricaded? Would that be survivors? And are there no police departments, fire stations and hospitals at VSB? If there aren't, how did my survivors ever level?
    • "When I started an account as..." - Thank you for telling us that you're an idiot with no idea about how to play this game, but we already knew that. The private class is the easiest character to start and level with. On average I manage 18 levels with such a character in one month of playing, a zombie would be lucky to get a quarter of that XP in the same play conditions.
    • "A lot of zombies say that there are more survivors than zombies." - Nope, still can't say this as a zombie, not possible.
    • "I have a theory that at least 5% of survivor characters actually fight against survivors." - Your theory is wrong. It just is. But would you care to show your working at least? Tell me what numbers you crunched using your mere months of game experience to arrive at a nice round 5%?
    • "The majority of pkers are people that kill survivors." - As the term is used in this game all PKers kill survivors...
    • "survivors are also plagued by gkers whom destroy a survivor's most important resource, generators" - Generators are not a survivor's most important resource, needles are.
    • "Survivor speech was limited to 50 people. This messed up communication in crowded places" - Zombies did this to hurt survivors? I'm quite sure I remember it getting changed to save server load and stop the game actually breaking down.
    • "Revives cost 10AP. This gave zombies an advantage in situations where survivors need to revive large number of people. Most significantly in mall sieges zombies got an advantage from the increased AP cost of revives" - What a logical and well thought out idea... neatly avoiding the AP advantage of barricades...
    • "Large were fused buildings. Before, each block of a large structure was considered an independent structure. After this, once zombies break into one part of a large building such as a mall, the entire place is doomed." - What a hideous update that was, completely unrealistic. When I go to the mall I often have to go outside and around to get to another store. This is why malls are excellent military buildings that are often fortified in times of war...
    • "Now, you have to get rid of all zombies in a building to be able to barricade/repair it." - Neatly omitting that zombies have to remove all the survivors to gain the ruin in the first place and the massive difference in immediate AP to alter the two states.
    • "This Nerf kept Red suburbs red. Also, it completely destroyed survivor effectiveness in red suburbs." - Nope, idiot survivors being completely apathetic kept suburbs ruined. Go talk to 404 and go on holiday to a ruined suburb sometime.
    • "In addition ruins can break free running lanes" - Forgetting, of course, that such ruins act as entry points that get marked as such on the minimap...
    • "Flesh Rot. Zombies are then able to only have zombie skills yet still be effective against survivors." - ...as zombies needs to the qualifier here, a death cultist without harman skills is a bit pointless. You're also neglecting that Flesh Rot appears after Brain Rot, effectively locking the character into a more difficult manner of playing the game.
    • "Survivors however need zombie skills to be more effective." - Lies.
    • "The next time a zombie complains about unfairness, you know they're lying." - The next time you try and convince someone you know what you're talking about, everyone will know that you're lying.
    Come on! Normally I'd think you were a bit clueless and needed teaching, but this latest stream of vomit that you've infected my wiki with proves that you're just butthurt over not being able to be a one man army of awesome. Unfortunately this isn't due to the game mechanics, it's because the people you are playing against are just smarter than you. -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 18:50, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
  20. No, just no --Ephraim 19:40, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
  21. The guide was unappealing and basic, poorly written and dull. Next time structure your work more and spend a little time on it.--C Whitty 20:51, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
  22. FUCK NO--Orange Talk 22:54, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
  23. Hahahaha -Lord Hawthorne 23:44, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
  24. Against - No. (As above.) --Private Mark 04:30, 7 December 2009 (UTC)
  25. ? - You just don't give up do you? Cookies and Cream 04:39, 7 December 2009 (UTC)
  26. This is a rant not a guide. And completely wrong in places (e.g. "Zombies start with vigour mortis". Mine don't, they start with NT Employment or Diagnosis.) --Catherine Athay 08:30, 7 December 2009 (UTC)
  27. Not a guide. Linkthewindow  Talk  11:50, 7 December 2009 (UTC)
  28. As above. --Haliman - Talk 23:59, 7 December 2009 (UTC)
  29. Against - what isn't opinion is mostly wrong. Also, it isn't a guide. Garum 20:26, 10 December 2009 (UTC)
  30. Against - Memories of Life is the most bullshit skill ever. Until there's some method for low level zombies to actually get into buildings beginning survivors will always have a massive advantage. My scouts level faster than my corpses. My consumers level faster than my corpses. My revived corpses level faster than my zombified corpses. See what I'm getting at? Closed doors are extremely fucking frustrating when you're playing feral. RinKou 06:53, 11 December 2009 (UTC)
  31. Against - I am not really sure what the hell he's talking about, I have not be hit by a zed in half a year, sure they have all that stuff going for them, but humans have EHB cades and dark buildings. Put the two together and YOU NEVER DIE! EVER! Unless someone try's to hunt you down personally; puts in a genny, fuels it up and then kills you, other then that humans have it easy. Yes I know it's hard when your low level but suck it up! If it was not for the first part of this game "being low level and it being hard because of that" what would be the point of even playing this fucking game then? I no the voting is done but had to get this out.--Truezombieboy 09:15, 15 December 2009 (UTC)
  32. Against - Please fix your formatting and sentences and I don't think that zombies had a higher advantage. It's hard to get any EXP unless you're travelling with a massive zombie horde or preying on new players who got locked out outside. Crystal Roselle 8:06, 16 December 2009 (GMT)

Abstain

  1. Massively, I may write a counterpoint to this. --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 00:51, 6 December 2009 (UTC)
    Say hello to A/VB Mr. Winman1 alt. *swings ban-hammer* Lelouch vi Britannia is helping make Ridleybank green_ and gives Achievements 04:06, 6 December 2009 (UTC)

Voting closed. With a count of 32 Against to 2 For, this guide has failed to attract support, and will not be featured on the Guides page. Aichon 21:16, 26 December 2009 (UTC)

User:Winman1/The seasoned stratagist

My UD game profile http://www.urbandead.com/profile.cgi?id=1602460

A guide for survivors. (I don't really know that much about the wiki so move this to wherever its supposed to be if its not in the right place.) Its best to read the entire guide.

--Winman1 23:42, 2 November 2009 (UTC)

Where it is right now is quite alright, don't worry. --DANCEDANCEREVOLUTION-- 00:04, 3 November 2009 (UTC)
He should worry, I'm about to vote and take this apart. -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 00:24, 3 November 2009 (UTC)

For

  1. I'm voting for my own guide...obviously--Winman1 02:13, 3 November 2009 (UTC)
  2. It's ok.-- | T | BALLS! | 07:48 10 November 2009(BST)

Against

  1. Let's begin:
    • "Formatting - There must be no obvious formatting errors in the text. The guide must work in all major browsers. - Someone with other browsers can confirm this, however it does just turn into a mass of endless black and white hypnosis towards the middle.
    • "Accuracy - The guide must be accurate." - It's not. I'll explain later.
    • "Clarity - The guide must be easy to read, with no obvious spelling or grammar errors." - What do the following 'words' have in common? "stratagist", "Meatsheilding", "bu" and "alot". And that's before I get onto the grammar...
    • "since combat is what this game is built around" - No, it isn't. Take off your trenchcoat, grow up and learn something.
    • "zombies are actually the dominating faction" - The stats page disagrees with you.
    • "A few players advocate combat reviving to use against zombies, hoping they will decide to play survivor for an extended period of time. Combat reviving is based around that core idea which rarely works." - This line proves how truly stupid you are, go talk to The Big Prick or 404 and ask them if they combat revive so that zombies 'rediscover their humanity and learn the error of their ways'. It's got nothing to do with it, people should be intelligent enough to understand this before they write guides to try and instruct other players.
    • "Right now the horde seems to be moving southwest" - The horde? The horde? Like singular? We only have one?
    • "Binoculars and necrotech scans are your best friends." - No, they aren't.
    • "First, you must secure (secure means light and barricade to a proficient amount ) factories to acquire a decent generator source." - No, needle barns come first, they're the easiest building to defend and allow your group to replace casualties and soak massive amounts of opposition AP.
    • "Go to the zombie group's forum saying "I found this bunch of survivors hiding in (whatever the place is you plan to lure them to.)" - In the meta we have a word for this. That word is cheating. Impersonating someone to deceive is just as bad as impersonation to gain information.
    • "In any outcome zombies will be dazed at their loss, or surprised of survivor coordination, zombies will be slightly more careful when taking any information of survivors fearing it may be another ambush." - Never played as a zombie have you? Didn't think so. I love being told what my side will do by ignorant trenchies.
    • "Groups with these people use the hit and run tactic. " - Groups with these people die and become mrh? cows.
    • "Obviously zombies are watching survivor radio frequencies" - Obviously, not.
    • "Know the zombie, trick the zombie" - Yet you yourself don't 'know the zombie'.
    That's the initial pass at your 'guide'. To say it sucks would be offensive to catholic school girls (who do indeed suck). I wrote this for people like you, or idiots as I tend to call them. The very best thing you can do with your guide that will help survivors, yourself and the quality of this wiki is to go here, place a link to your guide followed by the words "Crit Seven" and then your signature. -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 01:02, 3 November 2009 (UTC)
  2. As above--Orange Talk 02:10, 3 November 2009 (UTC)
  3. I am afraid this really is not a very well written guide. First, the grammar is rather hard to follow. There are many run-on sentences and fragments, which, combined with several minor spelling errors, make the guide appear rather unprofessional and difficult to read. Make sure to run your guide through a spell checker for errors, and read it aloud, so you can hear if it makes sense.
    Second, the advice goes against many accepted beliefs. The propaganda section is highly misleading- broadcasting anti-zombie slurs is generally considered spam, while spreading misinformation on opposing forums is considered a rude and underhanded tactic. Both behaviors demonstrate highly unsportsman-like attitudes. Furthermore, the tactics section is confusing to read and shows an incomplete understanding of the game. Luring zombies seldom works in practice, and attacking zombies outside is viewed by the survivor population as pointless, with the exception of gathering XP. The section on reclaiming buildings is also misleading and unclear- zombies inside of a building can drastically reduce the success rate of barricading, and you are vague on when it is appropriate to attack zombies.
    In its current state, this guide is both difficult to read and misleading in its advice. Read up on the wide array of survivor tactics, become knowledgeable in the nuances of the game, and collaborate with other users (Developing Guides) in order to insure high quality and accuracy. Do those and you will greatly increase the quality of the guide.--~ Red Hawk One Talk | space for lease 02:24, 3 November 2009 (UTC)
  4. Rule number one "1. Win All Without Fighting", "luring tactic", and "Knowing the Zombies" seem to contradict each other making the guide confusing, along with the grammar and errors stated above.--Zaphord 03:51, 3 November 2009 (UTC)
  5. As Iscariot. And thanks for providing the detailed post... saved me the effort of trying to read that whole thing and create one of my own. --Maverick Talk - OBR Praise Knowledge! 404 08:48, 3 November 2009 (UTC)
  6. As above. Also, the phrase "Right now the horde seems to be moving southwest, so any south westerners should prepare" is rather inaccurate and would quickly become out of date. Chief Seagull 10:54, 3 November 2009 (UTC)
  7. As Red Hawk. I can't support forum spying as a tactic. And I don't think "luring" zombies to your safehouse and then "ambushing" them in real-time would actually work.--GANG Giles Sednik CAPD 12:51, 3 November 2009 (UTC)
  8. As some of Iscariots points which prove this as trenchie garbage. --DANCEDANCEREVOLUTION-- 13:35, 3 November 2009 (UTC)
  9. As above. --Itsacon (Talk | Grungni | Ikhnaton) 15:33, 4 November 2009 (UTC)
  10. Generally bad. Says not to combat revive, then lists the pros of combat reviving as cons. Advocates sinister tactics and generally being a dick.--Yonnua Koponen Talk ! Contribs 20:51, 4 November 2009 (UTC)
  11. Developing Guides and I'm here if anyone has any 404 questions they want to ask. --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 21:23, 4 November 2009 (UTC)
  12. Crap guide with silly ideas and bad tactics. "Monitoring major zombie group's pages and forums care vital to predict zombie movements" is legit: if it's on a public forum, it's fair use in-game. Advising one to impersonate a zombie player on a forum is another thing entirely: it's called cheating. --WanYao 08:54, 5 November 2009 (UTC)
  13. Absolutely no redeeming factor, as was laid about above. --Private Mark 22:08, 6 November 2009 (UTC)
  14. Oh lawdy. We're coming to get you, Barbara 05:03, 7 November 2009 (UTC)
  15. Utter shit. --Papa Moloch 06:35, 7 November 2009 (UTC)
  16. Alright let's see if I have wiki format down yet. This guide violates the one thing that survivors need to do, survive. I'm not going to be redundant with 'unsportsmantlike conduct' or 'trenchcoater' comments. Iscariot rode those to the gates of Hell and back. Remember though that a survivor is meant to survive, staging massive (and suicidal) offensive tactics does no one any favors. The zeds get back up, and you have a few extra teeth marks for your troubles. --St. Faux
  17. Weak guide over common knowledge. Criminally Insane Talk | LoD 11:02, 14 November 2009 (UTC)

Abstain

  1. seems ok.--Shut up noob 18:17, 8 November 2009 (UTC) - Multi-vote struck -- SA 18:22, 8 November 2009 (UTC)

After two weeks and less than 50% support, this guide will not be featured on the Guides page. Failed.--Zaphord 04:03, 16 November 2009 (UTC)

Guides:The Newbie's Guide to Surviving the Apocalypse

Well, this was on here before, but it was a bit out of date, and there were many revisions to be made. I've since made corrections that were suggested and I've updated the material. I have multiple people who have said this guide helped them and I'd like to re submit this updated version --Rohndogg1 01:53, 22 October 2009 (BST)

For

  1. Obviously I'm for my own guide. --Rohndogg1 01:53, 22 October 2009 (BST)
  2. Granted that necessary changse/fixes as detailed below are upheld. --Private Mark 06:12, 22 October 2009 (BST)
  3. Decent enough stuff. A nice read, needs a bit of fixing here and there.--Umbrella-White.pngThadeous OakleyUmbrella-White.png 13:27, 22 October 2009 (BST)

Against

  1. Overall, it's shaping up to be a nice beginner's guide. However, there are still a few major problems. The code boxes you're using cause the text to stretch off the page- this makes reading the guide difficult in places, and hurts the aesthetics. I reccomend you replace them with another form of bolding, such as, well, bold-face text ('''Text here'''). Second, the breakdown on skills places too much emphasis on the combat skills, without providing reasoning behind that method. You should outline the other forms of xp grinding, such as healing or DNA scanning, and give reasoning behind why new players should get the skill first (remember that for many scientists and civilians, healing is an equal or better strategy than gunning down zombies). You also do not outline how class choice affects skill costs, nor do you place free running on the go-get list; many veteran players consider this one of, if not the first skills a player should get. Finally, there are still several (minor) grammar and stylistic mistakes which distract from the guide. Make sure to read it out loud, and see if what you wrote makes sense. I'm sorry if I'm coming across as a bit hard-to-please, but this is looking like it could be a really great guide; I'm holding it, and you, to that higher standard (think of it as a compliment ;D).--~ Red Hawk One Talk | space for lease 02:14, 22 October 2009 (BST)
    Thanks for the box comment, I didn't even notice it did that. It's because I copied it over from the forum. I just fixed that, so if that's your biggest fault than I'd look at it again now.As for Free Running, I do mention it as important in more than one location. As for healing as a method of leveling, I admit that it's lacking in that department, however I've never really used that method so I'm not an authority on the process. I will admit that I should add a part about skill cost though, that just never crossed my mind. I can make said revisions rather quickly, so it shouldn't be a problem. As for spelling and grammar, again that can be quickly fixed, and also easily overlooked if you aren't searching for it. I appreciate the input --Rohndogg1 03:18, 22 October 2009 (BST)
    The aesthetics are much better now. However, I still feel you should elaborate the skills section; provide reasoning behind why players should follow your model. As for healing, the common process is to: hang around a VSB hospital, and either heal anyone who comes through (announce your willing ness to heal if you don't have diagnosis), or wander the suburb, looking for survivors sleeping outside or in other buildings that likely need healing. Buy diagnosis as soon as possible (then freerunning), and continue building skills. It's slower but safer than guns. You don't need to get into too much detail if you're uncertain, but it warrents mention as a viable alternative to shooting. You're getting there!--~ Red Hawk One Talk | space for lease 03:30, 22 October 2009 (BST)
    Thanks, we need more people like you around the wiki community. --Rohndogg1 03:41, 22 October 2009 (BST)
  2. It's badly formatted, unclear, has faulty spelling and grammar and has game advice that is just plain wrong. -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 02:17, 22 October 2009 (BST)
    Please elaborate on what is "just plain wrong"--Rohndogg1 03:18, 22 October 2009 (BST)
  3. I am marginally against. But let me say it's a great article and really I enjoyed it. My only problem is that there are a TON of guides on the same subject. Unfortunately there have been many many good guides on the same topic and there just isn't a lot of room to say something new at this point. Don't be discouraged, and I hope you put together another guide on a less traveled path.--GANG Giles Sednik CAPD 13:03, 22 October 2009 (BST)
    #Just nothing that stands out. --WanYao 05:50, 23 October 2009 (BST) changed --WanYao 05:54, 23 October 2009 (BST)
  4. More explanation, and further descriptions to the introduction of the game would be useful. The "Cade Levels" section feels cluttered and doesn't follow the same organization as other list(Code boxes). The word "I" and the first person perspectives of the guide gives the reader of uncertainty. A few grammar errors are scattered throughout. The guide contains good information, however, it lacks in grammar and explanation.--Zaphord 19:08, 31 October 2009 (UTC)


Abstain

  1. Some good stuff. But as above, it lacks the comprehensiveness and/or originality of a high end guide. --WanYao 05:54, 23 October 2009 (BST)

Close but no cigar, with <50% support, this guide will not be featured on the Guides page. Failed. --DANCEDANCEREVOLUTION-- 13:08, 5 November 2009 (UTC)


Guides:Tips for a Zombie

More fun from the orphans list. --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 15:31, 8 October 2009 (BST)

For

Against

  1. Like in his other guides, the presentation is sub-par and there are many grammatical mistakes (namely the lack of spacing after punctuation). The material is obvious, confusing, and occasionally contradictory- he recommends skipping body building and a flak jacket for Flesh Rot, but cautions against taking Brain Rot (a prerequisite for the above skill).--~ Red Hawk One Talk | space for lease 04:06, 9 October 2009 (BST)
  2. Can we have a speedy deletion criteria for idiocy in the main space. -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 04:39, 9 October 2009 (BST)
    Yes. But then we'd only have 4 pages on the wiki. --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 09:31, 9 October 2009 (BST)

Abstain

Failed -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 16:56, 22 October 2009 (BST)

Bounty Hunter's Guide

Orphaned. Worth saving? --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 10:23, 2 October 2009 (BST)

For

  1. This is great! The name is a little misleading because it's more of an introduction to becoming a bounty hunter as opposed to a bounty hunter's guide. But still, very nice for what it is.--GANG Giles Sednik CAPD 15:09, 2 October 2009 (BST)
  2. Provides a good intro into bounty hunting. I think the tactics section could use a little expanding, but other than that it is both unique and well-written enough to warrent a spot on the guides page. Good work!--~ Red Hawk One Talk | space for lease 18:54, 2 October 2009 (BST)
  3. The end remark about crossing FRL's is true enough. I know my BHer has caught plenty of criminals that way. Criminally Insane 01:34, 4 October 2009 (BST)
  4. --Bob Boberton TF / DW Littlemudkipsig.gif 19:39, 7 October 2009 (BST)

#--Umbrella-White.pngThadeous OakleyUmbrella-White.png 13:36, 22 October 2009 (BST) - Vote added after voting period expired struck. -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 16:56, 22 October 2009 (BST)

Against

  1. Close, very close. There's some good material there; it just needs to have its grammar and spelling fixed, and to have some of those paragraphs split up into more convenient chunks. Cyberbob  Talk  10:28, 2 October 2009 (BST)
  2. It's poorly written, badly spelt and doesn't actually give a great deal of guidance. It's an extended advert for the DEM, Resens and UDTool. -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 07:28, 5 October 2009 (BST)

Abstain

  1. There is some great material there, but it needs to be fleshed out more. If there were one or two players who run bounty hunters willing to contribute to the guide and flesh it out some more I would definitely vote Keep. As is I'm kind of torn. --Maverick Talk - OBR Praise Knowledge! 404 19:33, 3 October 2009 (BST)

Passed for inclusion into survivor section. -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 16:56, 22 October 2009 (BST)

Guides:Commando's handbook

For

Against

  1. A bunch of really obvious stuff like - carry weapons - and - don't fall asleep outside. Though "once you hit, you must commit" has some redeeming value.--GANG Giles Sednik CAPD 15:03, 2 October 2009 (BST)
  2. As Giles, a lot of this has been stated in almost every guide. There are a few good parts (the commitment factor definately stands out), but it's just not enough to make it really stand out from other guides. Elaborate your sections a bit and this could become a good guide.--~ Red Hawk One Talk | space for lease 18:49, 2 October 2009 (BST)
  3. Again, really nothing that stands out in this guide enough to make the whole thing worth keeping. --Maverick Talk - OBR Praise Knowledge! 404 19:26, 3 October 2009 (BST)
  4. As the rest. It's been said elsewhere, and worded better. Linkthewindow  Talk  07:10, 5 October 2009 (BST)
  5. Dumber than a mall. -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 07:29, 5 October 2009 (BST)
  6. Retarded guide. --Papa Johnny 17:31, 7 October 2009 (BST)
  7. --Bob Boberton TF / DW Littlemudkipsig.gif 19:39, 7 October 2009 (BST)

Abstain

Failed -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 02:16, 22 October 2009 (BST)

Guides:Rat's Tips on UD

Orphaned Guide. Worth putting back on the page? --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 19:27, 1 October 2009 (BST)

For

Against

  1. It's borderline; most of the survivor tips are good for newer players, but there are a few misleading ones, and overall the guide is confusing to read.--~ Red Hawk One Talk | space for lease 19:52, 1 October 2009 (BST)
  2. I like the short'n'sharp tone but it needs some sprucing up and filling out. Cyberbob  Talk  10:21, 2 October 2009 (BST)
  3. This guide advises survivors to never build barricades and zombies to never attack the barricades. Wtf?--GANG Giles Sednik CAPD 15:13, 2 October 2009 (BST)
  4. Really not much of a guide. More random-tips-I-didn't-feel-like-putting-on-my-user-page. --Maverick Talk - OBR Praise Knowledge! 404 19:42, 3 October 2009 (BST)
  5. Were all of these written by the same idiot? -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 07:25, 5 October 2009 (BST)
  6. --Bob Boberton TF / DW Littlemudkipsig.gif 19:39, 7 October 2009 (BST)

Abstain

Failed -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 02:15, 22 October 2009 (BST)

Guides:Undercover

Orphaned Guide. Worth putting back on the page? --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 19:27, 1 October 2009 (BST)

For

Against

  1. Hard to tell at times whether this is a "zombie spy" guide, which is generally looked down on by the community, or a mediocre PKer guide; either way it's not very descriptive or well written.--~ Red Hawk One Talk | space for lease 19:56, 1 October 2009 (BST)
  2. Dumb. Cyberbob  Talk  10:21, 2 October 2009 (BST)
  3. Doesn't make a lick of sense. "Try to avoid getting your DNA extracted"... okay.--GANG Giles Sednik CAPD 15:16, 2 October 2009 (BST)
  4. Do you really need a guide about how to be an effective spy? I'm not a practitioner, but I would think that if you are thinking about being a spy, you probably don't need a guide to tell you the best way to do it. --Maverick Talk - OBR Praise Knowledge! 404 19:47, 3 October 2009 (BST)
  5. Oh my. No thank you. We're coming to get you, Barbara 19:58, 3 October 2009 (BST)
  6. It's like a death culting guide written by a mall rat. It's also completely wrong. If there's call I'll knock up a an actual guide for newbie death cultists, even though such a thing should be an oxymoron. -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 07:24, 5 October 2009 (BST)
  7. --Bob Boberton TF / DW Littlemudkipsig.gif 19:39, 7 October 2009 (BST)

Abstain

Failed -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 02:14, 22 October 2009 (BST)

Guides:Tips for Survivors

Orphaned Guide. Worth putting back on the page? --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 19:27, 1 October 2009 (BST)

For

Against

  1. This one has potential; however, like the rest of his guides the material is confusing at best, and at times misleading (the part about not barricading exemplifies both these points). On top of this, the guide is formatted like a talk page and has several severe grammatcal mistakes. If someone could rewrite the list to make it neater and more readable, it could function as a nice, short tip-list.--~ Red Hawk One Talk | space for lease 20:01, 1 October 2009 (BST)
  2. Needs sprucing up but more importantly I think we have more than enough of these already. Rather than having a million guides that all say more or less the same thing we should be working more to expand on the ones we've already got. Cyberbob  Talk  10:21, 2 October 2009 (BST)
  3. These guides are fraking awesome lol.--GANG Giles Sednik CAPD 15:19, 2 October 2009 (BST)
  4. Poorly written and more of a quickly written list than a well-written guide. --Maverick Talk - OBR Praise Knowledge! 404 20:09, 3 October 2009 (BST)
  5. Hideous. -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 07:23, 5 October 2009 (BST)
  6. --Bob Boberton TF / DW Littlemudkipsig.gif 19:39, 7 October 2009 (BST)

Abstain

Failed -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 02:12, 22 October 2009 (BST)

Guides:Tips to survive

Orphaned Guide. Worth putting back on the page? --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 19:27, 1 October 2009 (BST)

For

Against

  1. Nearly identical to the above guides; exhibits the same faults and has little new information to add. Fits the A/SD crit 1 better than the guide criteria.--~ Red Hawk One Talk | space for lease 20:04, 1 October 2009 (BST)
  2. As above. Cyberbob  Talk  10:21, 2 October 2009 (BST)
  3. WTH? Yeh, as red hawk.--GANG Giles Sednik CAPD 15:20, 2 October 2009 (BST)
  4. Most certainly a Criterion 1 A/SD that should have been taken care of long ago. --Maverick Talk - OBR Praise Knowledge! 404 20:11, 3 October 2009 (BST)
  5. Poor. -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 07:22, 5 October 2009 (BST)
  6. --Bob Boberton TF / DW Littlemudkipsig.gif 19:39, 7 October 2009 (BST)

Abstain

Failed -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 02:12, 22 October 2009 (BST)


Starting a New Group (Survivor)

I'll move it to the correct page name if it passes, I'm really after a peer review process, so feedback please.--RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 11:49, 18 September 2009 (BST)

For

  1. Wow! I didn't think there were any good articles about starting a group. Great job. Simple, elegant, useful.--GANG Giles Sednik CAPD 12:30, 18 September 2009 (BST)
  2. Very clear-cut and sensible. I like it. We're coming to get you, Barbara 16:57, 18 September 2009 (BST)
  3. On the whole, not bad. A few spelling errors, but not distracting. Bigger issue is SMART. The AR (as I knew the acronym) is either Achievable/Relevant OR Appropriate/Realistic (Note these are two ways of saying the same thing in the opposite order). Basically you are missing something that says "make sure your targets fit in with your overall plan." Good enough for a yea, but could be improved.Flammaster II 01:53, 19 September 2009 (BST)
  4. As was mentioned, a few grammatical errors, but otherwise pretty good and rather useful. --Aichon 12:03, 19 September 2009 (BST)
  5. Well thought out; you've obviously put a bit of effort into this. As the above two reviewers have pointed out, it has a few too many spelling and punctuation errors, but that's nothing a once-over with spellcheck can't fix. Good job!--~ Red Hawk One Talk | space for lease 01:16, 20 September 2009 (BST)
  6. Couple of typos, but otherwise gives a set list of instructions that can be very helpful for newbies. I suggest putting up a small section explaining the importance of communication in a group, via radio, graffiti, wiki, forums etc. ~Dr Frank (t) (DF) [P] (Sb) 07:27, 20 September 2009 (BST)
  7. I like it. It's concise, conveys the necessary information without dragging on. Could it use some polish? Sure. But definitely a guide worth keeping. --Maverick Talk - OBR Praise Knowledge! 404 07:25, 22 September 2009 (BST)
  8. Helpful guide, and I'll disagree with Iscariot when he says there's no style. Could use a short lead-in, but other than that, it's nicely done.--Yonnua Koponen Talk ! Contribs 07:31, 22 September 2009 (BST)
  9. Probably the first time a wiki-page has kept me interested enough to read the whole thing. --    : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : 18:30, 27 September 2009 (BST)
  10. For Can I vote? Thanks to all, I've amended a lot of the spelling, and removed one of the logical gaps Isc brought up. As usual, talk page me if you want other changes. --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 10:03, 2 October 2009 (BST)
  11. its gud Cyberbob  Talk  10:21, 2 October 2009 (BST)

Against

  1. Sorry Ross, this needs a major polish. The concept is fine and your data is sound, apart from a couple of glaring logical errors, but there's no style, no lead-in, it's more a list of concepts than a coherent guide. -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 01:24, 20 September 2009 (BST)
  2. Only because I think there should be a quick section on metagaming and a quick run-down of how to contact your group- all you have to do is mention IRC, forum and wiki in once sentence and I'd be satisfied. At the moment it's creating the appearance that there's nothing to a successful group other than having a good in-game appearance. Putting that aside, I would have voted for, but I'm just trying to help evaluate you. Speaking of evaluating, Developing Guides, anyone? --DANCEDANCEREVOLUTION-- 03:18, 25 September 2009 (BST)

Abstain

  1. The page is very well written and actually provides allot of helpful tips. However, I feel the page falls short in content, there is allot more then can be said about groups in general. I'll vote for if you promise you'll expand it in the future. Becomes what you have, is excellent, I just want more!--Umbrella-White.pngThadeous OakleyUmbrella-White.png 23:18, 22 September 2009 (BST)

Passed with enough of a majority to be featured on the Guides page. --DANCEDANCEREVOLUTION-- 12:37, 2 October 2009 (BST)

Guides:Harmanz

I am resubmitting this and putting it onto Template:Wiki News so it gets proper reception. --DANCEDANCEREVOLUTION-- 16:44, 17 September 2009 (BST)

For

Against

  1. Meh --WanYao 23:54, 16 August 2009 (BST)
    Note: This vote was the only one placed on the initial submission, and because Wan is on a 30 day requested ban, he can't resubmit a new vote like I would have preferred, so I'm keeping this on in the new tally. No reason why his should be considered illegitimate. --DANCEDANCEREVOLUTION-- 16:53, 17 September 2009 (BST)
  2. Woefully out of date and requiring a substantial lead in paragraph to make it understandable to the casual or newbie reader. -- To know the face of God is to know madness....Praise knowledge! Mischief! Mayhem! The Rogues Gallery!. <== DDR Approved Editor 16:51, 17 September 2009 (BST)
  3. It's very dificult to read.--GANG Giles Sednik CAPD 23:13, 17 September 2009 (BST)
  4. I simply don't like it all that much.--Bwii 03:07, 18 September 2009 (BST)
  5. It has potential, but need to be expanded on and cleaned up a bit. The name also seems a bit misleading.--~ Red Hawk One Talk | space for lease 04:00, 18 September 2009 (BST)
  6. As above. It's difficult to read and doesn't help out that much. --DANCEDANCEREVOLUTION-- 04:04, 18 September 2009 (BST)
  7. As above. The title is misleading, it needs an update, and it could use a good powerwash. --Maverick Talk - OBR Praise Knowledge! 404 09:17, 18 September 2009 (BST)
  8. If you are a career zombie changing sides, would it not be best to save up the xp and spend them in a big lump sum? Rather than killing zombies to get xp for combat skills? --RosslessnessWant a Location Image? 10:20, 18 September 2009 (BST)
  9. There seems little if anything here that can't be gleaned from a starting-as-a-survivor guide, in all honesty. We're coming to get you, Barbara 16:54, 18 September 2009 (BST)
  10. It seems well-intended but poorly executed. --Aichon 12:06, 19 September 2009 (BST)
  11. Poor advise under "What Now" for leveling. Title is misleading.Needs to be expanded. Good rough draft to work from but it's missing a lot to be considered a Guide.AU10Pantomime Mistress of Pain┌∩┐()┌∩┐18:10, 22 September 2009 (BST)
  12. Doesn't make any sense. Confuzed... --    : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : 18:23, 27 September 2009 (BST)
  13. not gud Cyberbob  Talk  10:21, 2 October 2009 (BST)

Abstain

  1. Not unhelpful, but the presentation is not that good, so I can't decide, so no vote. ~Dr Frank (t) (DF) [P] (Sb) 07:32, 20 September 2009 (BST)

Failed. --DANCEDANCEREVOLUTION-- 12:36, 2 October 2009 (BST)

Personal tools
advertisements